Concealed Handgun Licenses

 

The Concealed Carry Law handbook, and updates on the Concealed Carry License can be found at the Ohio Attorney General’s website at Ohio Attorney Generals Office Concealed Carry Information.

The Concealed Carry License Unit coordinates first-time and renewal licenses for the Butler County Sheriff’s Office. You must schedule an appointment to apply for a new or renewal CCW license. Please call or leave a message at 513-785-1020 to schedule an appointment. Due to the high number of license requests it may take several days to be called, but you will be contacted as soon as possible.

The location of your appointment will be:

Butler County Sheriff’s Office
705 Hanover Street
Hamilton, OH 45011

Do not bring your firearm to the Butler County Sheriff’s Office.

At your appointment, you will need to bring several things with you, detailed below in the procedure section.


Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need an appointment for new and renewal CCW applications?

Yes, both new and renewal applications are submitted by appointment only. We are here Monday through Thursday from 9am to 8pm. Please call 513-785-1020 for an appointment. To help us better serve you, please include the best day of the week and the time that works best for you (Ex. Monday’s after 5pm). Typically, we can get you in within a week of calling.

Do I need to include a picture on my renewal application?

No, only new applicants must provide a small 2×2 colored photo on the front of the application.

This is a renewal application, do I need to take the class again or re-qualify?

No, effective March 2013, you do not need to take the class again.

My CCW is expired. Do I need to do anything different?

If your CCW has been expired more than 30 days, you cannot carry your firearm until you renew the CCW. If it has been expired more than 120 day, you cannot carry and you must pay an increased fee of $67 to renew the CCW.

How long does the process take for CCW?

The appointment will last about 15 minutes. Once the appointment is completed, it will take up to one week to obtain the card. You may bring a self-addressed stamped envelope to your appointment if you would like us to mail your license to you.  Otherwise, you will be called when the card is ready and you will need to come back to the Sheriff’s Office between the hours of 8:00am and 4:00pm to pick up your license.

What if I am in the military or am retired from the military?

Current military personnel will need to provide documentation showing the most recent qualification. Retired military will need to provide the DD214 form, MUST BE WITHIN THE PAST 10 years. You do not need to take the class unless you have been retired more than 10 years.

What states honor Ohio’s CCW?

The best resource is www.handgunlaw.us. We are gaining states constantly so please check back often.

Do you have to live in Ohio to obtain an Ohio CCW?

No.  Out of state residents employed in Ohio can apply for CHL in the county where employed or in an adjoining county.  Out of state residents applying for an OHIO CCW License must provide adequate proof of that employment and a certificate or similar document that evidences satisfactory completion of a firearms training course that was conducted by an instructor who was certified by a national gun advocacy organization that complies with the state of Ohio’s requirements.

I have a CCW from another county in Ohio but I am moving to Butler County, what do I need to do?

It is the responsibility of the CCW holder to notify the issuing county if there is a change of address. Please notify the county that issued the CCW. Once it is time to renew, then you can schedule an appointment with Butler County.

What methods of payment are accepted?

We are able to accept (1) the exact cash amount of the fee, or (2) a money order, or (3) an official bank check. Money orders and official bank checks must be already completed and made payable to “Treasurer of Butler County.” We DO NOT accept personal checks.

Is CCW and CHL the same thing?

Yes. CCW, or Carrying a Concealed Weapon, is often used to describe Ohio’s concealed handgun license or CHL. The terms are used interchangeably.


Procedure

Application Form

Blank forms are available online at the State Attorney Generals Office or may be picked up at the Sheriff’s Office at the reception desk in the lobby.

For original, first-time, license:

  • Completed, current application form.
  • A color photo of yourself approximately 2” x 2” taken within the last 30 days and affixed to the appropriate space in section 2 of your application.
  • Exact cash, or, a money order or official bank check (personal checks are not accepted) already completed and made payable to “Treasurer of Butler County” for $67.00 if you have lived in Ohio continuously for at least the last 5 years; or for $91.00 if you have not lived in Ohio continuously for the last 5 years.
  • A copy of your firearms training certificate
  • A valid Ohio driver’s license or state ID card.

For a Renewal Application, if original application filed through Butler County:

  • Completed current application.
  • Exact cash, or, a money order or official bank check (personal checks are not accepted) already completed and made payable to “Treasurer of Butler County” for $50.00 if you have lived in Ohio continuously for at least the last 5 years; or for $74.00 if you have not lived in Ohio continuously for the last 5 years.
  • Current CCW license
  • A valid Ohio driver’s license or state ID card

NOTICE: If CCW license expires, after 120 days, new issue price applies.

For a renewal Application if original issued by another County:

  • Completed current application.
  • Exact cash, or, a money order or official bank check (personal checks are not accepted) made payable to “Treasurer of Butler County” for $50.00 if you have lived in Ohio continuously for the last 5 years; or for $74.00 if you have not lived in Ohio continuously for the last 5 years.
  • CCW license from other County or a copy of your firearms certificate
  • A valid Ohio driver’s license or state ID card

NOTICE: If CCW license expires, after 120 days, new issue price applies.

For a New Application if a CHL has been issued by another State:

  • Completed, current application form.
  • Exact cash, or, a money order or official bank check (personal checks are not accepted) made payable to “Treasure of Butler County” for $67.00 if you have lived in Ohio continuously for the last 5 years; or for $91.00 if you have not lived in Ohio continuously for the last 5 years.
  • Current CCW License issued by another state.
  • Copy of your firearms training certificate (must comply with Ohio’s firearms training requirements).
  • A valid Ohio driver’s license or state ID.

For an Out of State Applicant if Employed in the State of Ohio:

  • Completed, current application form.
  • A color photo of yourself approximately 2″ x 2″ taken within the last 30 days and affixed to the appropriate space in section 2 of your application.
  • Exact cash, or, a money order or official bank check (personal checks are not accepted) made payable to “Treasurer of Butler County” for $91.00.
  • A copy of your firearms training certificate (must comply with the state of Ohio’s firearms training and safety requirements).
  • Adequate proof of employment in Ohio.
  • A valid driver’s license of state ID card.

For a replacement of Damaged, Lost, or Stolen, etc. License:

  • Completed current application.
  • Submit an affidavit attesting to the loss or destruction of the license.
  • Exact cash, or, a money order or official bank check (personal checks are not accepted) already completed and made payable to “Treasurer of Butler County” for $15.00.
  • A valid Ohio drivers license or state ID card.

For an Emergency / Temporary License:

  • Completed, current application form.
  • A color photo of yourself approximately 2” X 2” taken within the last 30 days and affixed to the appropriate space in section 2 of your application.
  • Exact cash, or, a money order or official bank check (personal checks are not accepted) already completed and made payable to “Treasurer of Butler County” for $37.00 if you have lived in Ohio continuously for at least the last 5 years; or for $61.00 if you have not lived in Ohio continuously for the last 5 years.  This license may be issued to an Ohio resident or non-resident temporarily staying in Ohio.
  • A sworn statement that states he/she has reasonable cause to fear a criminal attack.  Such documents may include temporary protection orders, civil protection orders, a court order, and any report filed with or made by a law enforcement agency or prosecutor.
  • A valid Ohio driver’s license or state ID card

For Change of Address

Ohio law requires you to notify the county sheriff’s office at which you obtained your concealed carry license within 45 days after a change of address. Address changes sent by email are not accepted.

You may download an address change form and send it by US Postal Service to:

Butler County Sheriff’s Office
ATTN: Concealed Carry License
705 Hanover Street
Hamilton, Ohio 45011

This process, required by law, modifies the record held by our agency in the event you need to be contacted regarding suspension, revocation, or administrative purpose.

If you wish to obtain a replacement, concealed handgun license displaying your new address, you must call 513-785-1020 for an appointment and apply in person. The cost is $15.00 and covers our time modifying the record in the CHL computer with the new address, printing a replacement license and entering new address information in the law enforcement database.

Include a money order or official bank check (personal checks are not accepted) already completed and made payable to “Treasurer of Butler County” for $15.00.

Do not bring your firearm to the Butler County Sheriff’s Office.